WSOFNYC Sizzle Reel

WSOFNYC, which unfolded in front of a sold-out crowd at The Theater at Madison Square Garden, was a historical one in many ways. Besides featuring four title fights and some of the best talent the promotion has to offer on a single, spectacular card, the event set new viewership records for WSOF and NBC.

Take a look back at WSOF’s historic 11-Bout, 4-Title Fight New Year’s Eve Mega-Event in New York City!

“It was a great night of fights we had to finish off 2016. Seeing all the fans come out to pack the house was great and I know I appreciate all of them and I’m sure the fighters do as well,” said Sefo. “I can’t wait to get back to work to bring more big MMA shows to our fans in 2017.”

“The debut of World Series of Fighting in New York City was spectacular,” said World Series of Fighting CEO Carlos Silva. “This monumental event was watched by millions of people and we are thrilled at its massive success.”

WSOFNYC featured four title bouts along with former WSOF heavyweight champion Smealinho Rama making his light heavyweight debut. Also featured on the main card was a swing bout between Division I All-American wrestler Paul Bradley and former WSOF title challenger, Yushin Okami.

Photos: Behind The Scenes At WSOFNYC


Official Results

Lightweight Title Fight: Justin Gaethje def. Luiz Firmino via TKO (Stoppage), Rd. 3, 5:00
Welterweight Title Fight: Jon Fitch def. Jake Shields via Unanimous Decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46, 49-46)
Bantamweight Title Fight: Marlon Moraes def. Josenaldo Silva via TKO (Knee Injury), Rd. 1, 2:30
Middleweight Title Fight: David Branch (19-3) def. Louis Taylor via Submission (Rear Naked Choke), Rd. 5, 2:00
Welterweight (Swing Bout): Yushin “Thunder” Okami def. Paul Bradley via Split Decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Heavyweight: Caio Alencar vs. Jared Rosholt via, KO (Strikes), Rd. 1, 1:17
Light Heavyweight: Smealinho Rama (9-2) def. Jake “The Honey Bear” Heun via TKO (Strikes), Rd. 2, 3:30
“Who’s The Toughest?” Catchweight Fight: Shane Kruchten def. Jeremy Mahon, Unanimous Decision (29-28)
Middleweight: Bruno Santos def Vagab Vagabov via Split Decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-29)
Featherweight: Andre Harrison def. Bruce Boyington via Submission, (Rear Naked Choke), Rd. 1, 1:54
Welterweight: Tommy Marcellino def. Matt Denning via Submission (Guillotine), Rd.1, 3:30