Photos: WSOFNYC’s Jon Fitch vs. Jake Shields Welterweight Title Fight

Welterweight Title Fight: Jon Fitch def. Jake Shields via Unanimous Decision (49-46)

Jon Fitch and Jake Shields entered the Decagon as two of the most decorated welterweights in MMA history. Considering the grappling prowess of both men, fans were eagerly expecting some interesting grappling exchanges. However, Shields surprised nearly everyone by coming out with some impressive kicks early.

Still, Fitch was able to work past Shields’ striking to secure a takedown and take the first frame. The second round saw a reversal of fortune as Shields would take top position on the ground. The two men would exchange positions on the mat for much of the middle rounds and it was clear it was taxing on both men’s conditioning. Although Fitch would hold top position for much of the time spent grappling, Shields was constantly threatening with submissions.

However, it wouldn’t be enough as the WSOF welterweight champ would retain his title by sticking to his strengths. In a battle of legendary MMA welterweights, Fitch would emerge victorious. Following the bout, Fitch spoke honestly about this fight possibly being his last. If it is indeed his final fight, Fitch will go out as one of the best 170-pound fighters in MMA history.

Official Results

Lightweight Title Fight: Justin Gaethje def. Luiz Firmino via TKO (Stoppage), Rd. 3, 5:00
Welterweight Title Fight: Jon Fitch def. Jake Shields via Unanimous Decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46, 49-46)
Bantamweight Title Fight: Marlon Moraes def. Josenaldo Silva via TKO (Knee Injury), Rd. 1, 2:30
Middleweight Title Fight: David Branch (19-3) def. Louis Taylor via Submission (Rear Naked Choke), Rd. 5, 2:00
Welterweight (Swing Bout): Yushin “Thunder” Okami def. Paul Bradley via Split Decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Heavyweight: Caio Alencar vs. Jared Rosholt via, KO (Strikes), Rd. 1, 1:17
Light Heavyweight: Smealinho Rama (9-2) def. Jake “The Honey Bear” Heun via TKO (Strikes), Rd. 2, 3:30

Prelim Card
“Who’s The Toughest?” Catchweight Fight: Shane Kruchten def. Jeremy Mahon, Unanimous Decision (29-28)
Middleweight: Bruno Santos def Vagab Vagabov via Split Decision (29-28, 29-28, 28-29)
Featherweight: Andre Harrison def. Bruce Boyington via Submission, (Rear Naked Choke), Rd. 1, 1:54
Welterweight: Tommy Marcellino def. Matt Denning via Submission (Guillotine), Rd.1, 3:30